• cms_block_content_7

Tax relief under the Loudoun County Land Use Program

Ben van der Walt

I am new to beekeeping and would like to know if there are any tax benefits in being a beekeepers. I was told the other day by a friend that it is possible to get property tax relief. Can you guys give me any info on what the requirements (for example minimum acres, number of hives etc. ) are to qualify for tax relief. I were not able to get much info on the Loudoun County website, so I am not getting my hopes up. I enjoy my bees and if I can get a tax relief, what a bonus. 

Thanks for any help.

Thanks Desi. I went to the same web page and did not see anything specific to bees or beekeeping, but I will give them a call.

You also need to make $1000/per year and have at least two hives. With two hives though you'll never make $1000. And if you ever stop beekeeping you land is still in land use. If you stop making money with bees (agriculture) you will have to pay rollback taxes for the last seven years (I think) unless you have another agricultural income of $1000/year at least.

This is exactly the kind of information I needed to put things in perspective. Thanks Kristina! I think I will consume my own honey hopefully next year and will leave the tax man out of it.

On 6/20/2018 at 2:18 PM, Kristina said:

You also need to make $1000/per year and have at least two hives. With two hives though you'll never make $1000. And if you ever stop beekeeping you land is still in land use. If you stop making money with bees (agriculture) you will have to pay rollback taxes for the last seven years (I think) unless you have another agricultural income of $1000/year at least.

Worse yet, you pay 10%, 20%, 30%, etc penalties for each year looking backwards. Definitely not a good move for a casual, or small capacity, beekeeper.

• 1 month later...

Hi Ben